The Onondaga are one of the founding nations of the Iroquois Confederacy, a long-standing alliance between the Five Nations of the Iroquois. The confederacy, which originally included the Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca, Oneida, and Mohawk, expanded in 1722 to include the Tuscarora. The peoples of the Iroquois Confederacy conceived, and continue to conceive, of themselves as families arranged around a single longhouse. The Onondaga, or People on the Mountain, were located in the geographic center of the Iroquois country, which, in colonial times, stretched across much of northern New York,


Onondaga Photo Gallery

Leave a Reply

39 − = 35