As a geographical entity Epirus extends from the Ionian Sea to the mountains that separate it from Thessaly and Macedonia to the E; to the N it is bounded by the Ceraunian mountains and the rivers Sousitsa anc. Polyanthos and Vjosa anc. Aoos, to the S by the Ambracian gulf Philippson – Kirsten 11ff.. With the administrative reorganization carried out probably under Diocletian and his successors, the name Epirus was assigned to two eparchies of the diocese of Macedonia: Old Epirus Epirus Vetus and New Epirus Epirus Nova. To Old Epirus was assigned the territory S of the Ceraunian mountains, Acharnania, part of Aetolia S of the river Acheloos as far as the mouth of the Gulf of Patras, and the isles of Corf¹, Ithaka and Levkas. Its capital was Nicopolis; its most important cities Dodona, Euroia, Hadrianopolis or Justinianopolis now Libochovo, Appon location unknown, Phoenice Finiki, Anchiasmus or Onchiasmus now Aghioi Saranta or simply Saranta, Buthrotum Butrinto, Photice near Limponi or Limpobethra, N-E of Paramythia and Corcyra. New Epirus, Illyria, to which was annexed a portion of Macedonia salutaris, extended in the territory N of the Ceraunian mountains as far as Drin and, in the E, beyond Lake Ohrid. Its capital was Durazzo anc.

Epidamnos or Dyrrachium; its most important cities, Scampa or Scampia now Elbasan, Apollonia near the monastery of Pojani, Boulls or Bylls now Ballsh, Amantia now Pljoka, Pliocia, Pulcheriopolis perhaps modern Berat, Aulon now Valona, Vlora, Lychnidos now Ohrid, Alistron location unknown and Skepton ? location also unknown Hierocl., Synekd. 651-653; Honigmann 19-20; cf. Marquardt I, 320-321, 331, Chrysos 12-21, Soustal – Koder 41-42 and 46-49. The small number of Epirote cities is due to the fact that few were legally recognized as civitates Chrysos 13-14. The two Epirus’s were annexed to Macedonia, one of the two dioceses of E Illyricum Praefectura praetorio per Illyricum: Not. dign., Or. III, Seeck 9-10, whose capital was Thessalonica. From the time of Theodosius I 379 395, E Illyricum was under the jurisdiction of the Eastern empire. Epirus suffered, to varying degrees, the invasions of the Heruli 267, Goths 380, Goths under Alaric 397 and 406, Ostrogoths 479 482, Getae 517, Ostrogoths again 551 and Slavs 548 549 Chrysos 25, 40-41, 41-50, 63-64, 65-68, 69-70. In 474 Nicopolis was sacked by the Vandals ibid. 52-55; in 479 482 Dyrrachium fell into the hands of the Ostrogoths ibid. 55-63; cf.

EPIRUS Photo Gallery

Leave a Reply

+ 43 = 48